What photography has taught me

My life is up and down sometimes, but there’s something that have never be changed. Photography is one of those. Over years, what photography has given me not only the technical or tips stuff but also the valuable life lessons. Not all lessons has been recognizing once, but some took slowly to understand.

1. Step outside your sweet zone

When I was a child, I was full of courage to push my limit out of the comfort zone, even did some stupid things. But growing up tides me up with responsibilities, worry, trade off, and some unnamed stuffs. Photography gave me the exit.

When shooting, I learned to let my child inside me waking up and letting her go everywhere she wants.  See things through her eyes makes my world colorful and lively.  Indeed, I learned that life happens when you’re not afraid to step outside your sweet zone. Challenge your perspective, open your mindset, do something different, be spontaneous, be a child – that’s a beautiful gift that photography has brought to me.

DSC01713

2. The good things will come as long as you need to wait

Naturally, I am impatient. But photography taught me the good things would only come if you waited. Wait for the rain to stop, for the perfect timing the rainbow appearing, for the man heading up and realizing how beautiful the sky is. These things will be missed once you are too rush to wait.

In life, I learned that you have to let time does his part. Seed needs time to grow up, good things need time to develop or transfer.

DSC00398

3. It’s not about how the world’ s seen. It’s about how I want the world to be seen

Lens work like the eyes of the photographer, and the image is the soul. What I see the world in my perspective will be presented honestly in the image. No lies, no borrow.

And the world hidden inside the image is my world, not the viewer’s world. But by sharing images I shot, I shares my feeling, my emotion, my belief to the surrounding.

DSC00359

 

4. There is no such thing as bad weather

Rain can work well in the image, even the grey sky talks a lot of things.  As long as you keep your own positive attitude, the party can be everywhere.

DSC06471-2

Leave a comment